Click for Nordhavn Click for Westport Click for Glendinning Click for Perko Click for Delta

What are my chances?

Discussion in 'Yacht Crews' started by SeaSalt, Jan 22, 2010.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SeaSalt

SeaSalt New Member

Hello everybody!

I am interested in trying to break into the yacht industry.

About me: I'm a 31 year old American male, with some decent sea-time under my belt from working on US flagged vessels (Mostly cargo ships, supply boats and a cruise ship) with most of my time being in the engine room and some on deck and in the galley.

I am wondering if any of my sea-time will transfer over to yachting? I am studying to pass the USCG QMED exams for the oiler and fireman/watertender endorsements. I was looking at several yacht related schools (MPT & Yacht Master) in the Ft. Lauderdale area and they offer courses like AEC and MEOL for yacht engineers.

I am also willing to work as a combo deck/engineer (not sure if that exists in yachting) and to help out in the galley.

I know the market is soft at the moment, but I am willing to give it a shot and invest some time and money into giving it a go.

My main concerns seem to be:

Am I bit too old (31, almost 32)?

I am clean-cut, well spoken and educated but I have a few extra pounds (I carry it well), will that be a strike against me?

And will my experience and time in the Merchant Marine count for something in yachting?

Thanks for your responses in advance!
  2. Henning

Henning Senior Member