Click for Ocean Alexander Click for Glendinning Click for Perko Click for Westport Click for Mulder

New boat - part deaux

Discussion in 'Carver Yacht' started by Cpt Sous-Leau, May 14, 2024.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cpt Sous-Leau

Cpt Sous-Leau Member

I just dropped coin on a 57' Carver Voyager pilothouse. I've been shopping for a comfy boat for 3 years. My last attempt ended in flames, smoke, soot and a rejection letter, so the boat of my dreams was still out there.

I had a list of options that I wanted, and found the hull that hits about 80%, which I consider pretty good. I'm going to add a few things I want. This is my Final Boat. I started with a 8ft inflatable when I was about 11, and messed around in local lakes and down to San Diego Mission bay. Had Hobies and various other small sail. After leaving the army, I moved up to some various outboards, and IOs, and moved up through the 28' family. 3 years ago, bought a 37' aft cabin, and we've been looking at 45-53' vessels for a long time. Rather than do another buy-sell with a 45 or 50, I just decided that I'd get the last of the last. No more swaps for me.

Hoping to close mid-June. I'll update as things move forward.
  2. abfish

abfish New Member

Congrats! I believe that I have purchased my final "big boat" as well.
  3. Cpt Sous-Leau

Cpt Sous-Leau Member

^^ Tell us more, or start a thread. ^^

The prev boat I was in love with had the hyd swim step feature. It was pretty high on the list of options for us. This boat has the extended swim step, about 3.5' but not hyd lowering. I contacted one of the vendors for the lifts and they advised me they can add hyd to my option swim step for about $30k. That'll be a next winter project.