Click for Abeking Click for Mag Bay Click for Perko Click for Nordhavn Click for Delta

Cat C18 ACERTS - any issues I should know about?

Discussion in 'Engines' started by GPO, Nov 12, 2021.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. GPO

GPO Member

My current boat has Cummins QSC 8.3 HO 550 engines. I'm looking to move up. A broker is suggesting I look at a boat with C18 ACERTS, 2012 build dates, just under 800 hours. I have no operational experience with Cats. Before I even consider looking at the boat, much less engine surveys and oil analysis, are there any issues I should know about first?
  2. DOCKMASTER

DOCKMASTER Senior Member

You will likely get many opinions that may differ greatly. What hp are they and what hull type are they in?
    IMHO, the C18 is arguably one of the best, most reliable engine out there in it's hp range. Yes, I'm biased as I repowered with C18's a year ago. But I went with C18's because they are good engines.
    We have used the C18's in several commercial series boats we have built and they have been great. Many of them well past 10k hours with no major issues.
    I barely have 100 hours on mine so far but really happy with them.
  3. GPO

GPO Member

Good points.
    I should have included this info - 1015 hp, 58 Riviera enclosed flybridge, 63'4" LOA.
  4. DOCKMASTER

DOCKMASTER Senior Member

The C18's are probably the best thing about that boat. Do your homework on Riviera. A simple search on this forum will yield lots of good insights. I don't know how Riviera quality emerged after they went BK in 2009. They are a production, price point boat. Not saying that's bad, just suggesting research heavily to make an informed decision.
  5. motoryachtlover

motoryachtlover Senior Member