Click for Westport Click for Burger Click for Nordhavn Click for Ocean Alexander Click for Abeking

Carver 370 Voyageur Ideal Cruise settings

Discussion in 'Carver Yacht' started by gbutch, Dec 29, 2010.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. gbutch

gbutch New Member

Folks, I am new to big boats( big to me, we left a 24 foot Chaparrel) to get this Carver. She is a 1995 ( low hours ~310)with twin fuel injected 454 Crusaders. I am trying to figure out what the ideal cruise speed is for best economy. A lot of our running is in a canal system but we our home port is on a big lake and I would like to open her up without taking out another mortgage. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I wonder if Voyageurs are not very popular as I have not seen any postings?
    Grant
  2. Pascal

Pascal Senior Member

Best economy will be just below hull speed, around 7kts or so. Second best will be fully on plane but not too fast, guessing around 18kts. Make sure your tabs are working and fully down while getting on plane. Once on plane, at a set rpm, adjust them to get best speed (gps)

The worst speed is above hull speed but not fully on plane. Ex 2 kts above hull speed gets you 25% more speed but cost you nearly twice the fuel

One good way to optimize perf/Eco is to installmfuel meters. On a heavy gasser they can pay for themselves in a couple or year
  3. tommyfmu

tommyfmu Member

Here's the formula for hull speed as Pascal described: square root of length of hull at waterline x 1.34 . If your boat at waterline is 37 ft, then 6.083 x 1.34 = 8.15 knots. Of course getting anywhere would take way long, so it's a trade off between fuel efficiency and time.
  4. pasogrande

pasogrande New Member

Hi Grant,

You may also want to check the Carvermitch forum which is dedicated to 28' Mariners. It is a very active site and many owners of other Carvers join in. There is a lot of expertise there too.

Wilf.
  5. Fireman431

Fireman431 Senior Member