Click for Abeking Click for Nordhavn Click for JetForums Click for MotorCheck Click for Cross

Obtaining a Certificate of Inspection for charter operations

Discussion in 'Licensing & Education' started by turboguy, Mar 24, 2015.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. turboguy

turboguy New Member

hi guys and gals

I am looking at buying a yacht in the 65-80 foot range and am trying to research the process and requirements to obtain a COI for the yacht so I can carry more then 6 passengers for hire on the yacht.

Specifically I am looking at a 1974 Chriscraft

Has anyone been through the process of obtaining a COI for a yacht?

How much money did you have to spend to make it up to code?

How long did it take to get approved?
  2. ranger58sb

ranger58sb Senior member

I have no direct experience, but an acquaintance near here told me his charter operation went through the process to acquire and upgrade a Chesapeake deadrise boat in the 46' (I think) range... and eventually determined it would have been less expensive for them to buy an already-inspected boat. The way he described it, the required modifications to the boat (i.e., not the inspection or paperwork processes) were extensive. Sorry not more useful data...

-Chris
  3. turboguy

turboguy New Member

Hi Chris,

The coast guard gave me the regulations that pertain to a COI it ranges from everything from fire fighting systems to wiring.
    multiple fuel shut off valves & emergency lighting are other examples.

It looks like I could rip apart the whole boat to do these modifications which I dont want to do.

I would love to find a yacht with a COI unfortunately are only a few around the country
  4. ranger58sb

ranger58sb Senior member

Yeah, another example he gave during the discussion was about fitting new internal bulkheads...

Lots o' work.