Click for Mag Bay Click for Westport Click for YF Listing Service Click for YF Listing Service Click for Abeking

My Post 42 (Kinda Long...Sorry)

Discussion in 'Post Yacht' started by Island Runner, Mar 13, 2010.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. Island Runner

Island Runner Member

Hello All,

Read some comments about getting more members involved so I thought I would introduce my 1976 Post 42. She's hull number 38 and I have been restoring and improving her for over 4 years. I am in the marine trades so I have access to materials and resources that have made this somewhat "cost-effective" (my delusion. My wife has another opinion.) and I have done all work myself as time and money have allowed.

I replaced the original steel fuel tanks with .250 aluminum tanks and did so without cutting up the cockpit sole or any other "major surgery". I'll spare you the details of just how but it worked out slick and the boat stayed in the water at the dock the entire time. I replaced the entire fuel system from the deck fills to the new Aeroquip fuel lines to the J & T 6-71Ts.

When the tanks were out I fabricated all new decking surfaces in the engine room using 3/4" marine plywood glassed on all sides in 6oz cloth set in WEST epoxy. I removed all electrical wiring, plumbing and air conditioning compressors. I removed all the old fiberglass insulation and screening and installed 2" Soundown accoustical foam with lead barrier and covered it with Soundown perforated aluminum sheet.

I replaced the original wood support posts with custom aluminum pipe supports (just because I wanted to) and now have 2 new 16KBTU Cruisair compressors stacked, new battery chargers, added internal sea strainers (2- 1/2" Groco), Fireboy extinguisher, and Isotemp hot water heater.