Click for Delta Click for Cross Click for Nordhavn Click for Abeking Click for YF Listing Service

Mobil synthetic oil

Discussion in 'Technical Discussion' started by Beau, Oct 18, 2017.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. Beau

Beau Senior Member

Hi Folks

I've been using 1640 Delvac 40w for the last 18 years in my 820 Mans

Does anyone have experience with Mobil 's 1 ESP 5-40w synthetic? Should I just stay with Delvac 1640?
  2. 30West

30West Member

There is a ton of information and discussion (and BS) on https://bobistheoilguy.com/.

My preference is for Shell Rotella T6 Synthetic 5W-40. Mobil 1 might impress more people, if I were planning to sell the boat and display how well it was maintained. The Mobil1 is an excellent oil, one of the best.
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2017
  3. Capt Ralph

Capt Ralph Senior Member

Mobil part number 98JJ11, Delvac ESP 5W40, 5 Gal pail, full synthetic, was the closest oil we could get to factory warranty specs for a set of V8-900 CRMs.
    It worked very well.

The multi weight may help you on cold mornings. Your low oil pressure alarms may drive you nuts at idle for a while on an older engine.
    If your liking what you have been using, I'd stay with that.

Consistent oil brand & type may look better in your records for re-sale value
  4. Capt J

Capt J Senior Member

That is the oil that you need to use for the common rail Man's and is recommended by Man. If you've been running normal oil in your 820s for 18 years, why change? Mobil makes the oil for CAT, MAN, MTU and many other manufacturers, it's pretty much what I use exclusively unless I use the manufacturers branded oil.
  5. 30West

30West Member