Click for Cross Click for Delta Click for Nordhavn Click for Burger Click for Mag Bay

How about a Princess 42 - for starters?

Discussion in 'Princess Yacht' started by biund, Apr 19, 2010.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. biund

biund New Member

I've been daycruising around Scandinavia for over ten years, and now start to look seriously into getting a slightly larger ship. I notice that some Princess 42's are decently priced. Especially if some 5 years old. I have seen them offered for less than half the price of a new boat, and none of them had over 500 engine hours. I also fancy the boat type.

I'd be grateful for opinions of the boat type (P42) in general, and opinions on buying a 5-year old boat in particular.

I will probably keep it for 2-4 years, and then hopefully be ready and able to move up to a 62, which is my goal - longer term. (The 62 does not have to be a Princess. It'll be a decision at the time and nothing I will contemplate at this stage.)
  2. Silver Lining

Silver Lining Member

Hi, I have an 11 year old Viking Sport Cruiser 50 flybridge which is actually made by Princess Yachts in England for Viking USA. The Viking version and the Princess are essentially the same boat. We have been very happy with the build quality. They do a very nice job with both the hull design and fabrication using an extensive stringer matrix with a solid fiberglass hull from the rub rail down. The hardware is excellent throughout compared to several other choices in the same class, nice stainless portholes, brass light fixtures and cabinet hardware, remote AC compressors, etc. It is a well thought out layout and most systems are well designed with reasonle access.