Click for Mulder Click for Perko Click for Westport Click for Comfort Click for Abeking

Advice wanted from engineers

Discussion in 'Yacht Crews' started by Hoodman, Apr 13, 2008.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. Hoodman

Hoodman New Member

I am seeking advice from engineers in the industry who might have found themselves in my position.
    I am a marine engineer based in Cairns, Australia. I am 33 years old and only recently became involved in the marine industry. The reason for this was because I wanted to pursue a career on Super Yachts.
    I have spent the past 3 years working on live aboard dive boats and more recently on merchant cargo vessels, and hold the Australian qualification on a Marine Engine Driver Grade 1 (MED1). I also hold the STCW95 safety certificate, ENG1 and am in the process of getting a B1/B2 visa.
    While searching the web, I found a press release on the MCA site stating:
    "MCA will accept holders of Australian Marine Engine Driver Class 1 and Marine Engineer Class 3 for direct entry to the MEOL (Y) examination."
    Has anyone on this forum followed this path?
    I am tossing up whether find work on a Yacht in Australia for 12 months, add some experience to my CV and then head to Europe. Or alternatively head to the UK shortly, do the oral exam for the MEOL and then try to find work in Florida around Oct/Nov.
    Does anyone have any comments about either option or are there others that I have not yet considered.
    I wish I had the option of taking things slow and steady, but I turn 34 this year and aware that young crew members are preferred. I would hate to have spent all this time and money chasing qualifications only to miss the boat because of my age.
    Any comments would be appreciated.
  2. craigbellamy

craigbellamy New Member