Click for Westport Click for Furuno Click for Nordhavn Click for MotorCheck Click for Glendinning

2007 riviera 51 open flybridge

Discussion in 'General Sportfish Discussion' started by frank lunati, May 9, 2017.

1. frank lunati

frank lunati New Member

i cant find a forum specific to Riviera boats on this forum website... does anyone have experience with this boat? The one I'm interested in has 380 hrs on CAT C-18's... My other choice was a 2006 POST 53 but the price is ridiculously high and the seller wont come down much....
  2. Capt J

Capt J Senior Member

I have no experience with the boat you're asking about. I have run a smaller Riviera I think a 43' Flybridge some years back. It rode fairly well and cruised around 26 knots I believe. The electrical (ac mostly) was all sorts of weird and made no sense and looked like finding parts for the electrical here in the US would be a serious challenge.
  3. wiredup

wiredup Member

No experience with Riviera, but can tell you that C18's are phenomenal engines. Those are barely broken in.
  4. d_meister

d_meister Senior Member

I've worked on a number of Rivieras, including the 51. I really had no problems finding electrical stuff for them. The switches (Vimar, Carling and lighting is available from many sources, and the heavy gauge stuff from BEP New Zealand is showing up here under Blue Seas, and comes from VDO originally, I think.