Click for Ocean Alexander Click for Mag Bay Click for Mulder Click for Walker Click for YF Listing Service

1958 Burger raised pilothouse 85' -$165,000. Too good to be true?

Discussion in 'Burger Yacht' started by Wrightsville, Jul 14, 2008.

1. Wrightsville

Wrightsville New Member

I am new to the power yacht world. I have owned sail boats in the past. I saw an add for this boat and couldn't believe the bargin basement price on it. Does anyone know anything about this boat? It is hull #33 for Burger. Is it a good deal or will it be a money-pit?
  2. Dan Evans

Dan Evans Senior Member

I think it is safe to assume that anything that floats will be a money pit...
    :)
    Dan:
  3. Pascal

Pascal Senior Member

she's gorgeous but it's going to take twice as much $$$ to bring her back. even assuming the hull is sound and the partial replate a few years ago was done right.

I also wonder how easy it is to get parts for the detroit 6-110 and the mercedes gennies.
  4. K1W1

K1W1 Senior Member

Hi,

Shoot this guy am e mail, they came up first on a Google for parts for 6 110's

stevew-*at-transdiesel.co.nz

They claim to have a lot of old discontinued parts so one never knows.

Almost broke the golden rule and posted the e mail addy unaltered.
  5. Seafarer

Seafarer Senior Member

Also, this site was mentioned in a Detroit-related thread a while back... http://www.surplusman.com/Browse.php?menuid=110&catid=&imgOnly=0&pg=6

Also http://www.jobbersinc.com/detroitd.htm lists parts (as well as engines, but seemingly only power units and truck engines).
  6. SeaEric

SeaEric YF Historian

I recently represented an owner in the sale of his 1958 Broward 83' which was powered with 6-110's and had a Mercedes genset which needed a repair. We found parts for the Gen in England, and the 6-110's parts were no problem either. Both sources turned up quickly in Google searches on the net.
  7. Wrightsville

Wrightsville New Member